User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pogo's Weapon Discussion -- The M41A.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Pogo's Weapon Discussion -- The M41A.

Hi, I'm Pogo and I really like guns. I am not an expert in any academic or professional capacity, but I have spent a lot of my life learning and reading about firearms and firearms history. Because of this, I would like to discuss some of the weapons that are present in the game, both in-game and extrapolated in reality. This will be a series of threads that I will post, or stop posting, whenever I feel like because I am a flaky prat. Also to note, I am not an expert on Alien lore so I will be vaguely reference in-game info and whatever secondary fiction data I find interesting. In-game info will override Alien lore.

Today I wanted to talk about the M41A, because it is the M41A. It is an assault rifle firing 10�24mm Caseless rounds, capable of semi-auto and 3-round burst fire, and feeding from either 40-round magazines in the Mk.2 or 95-round magazines in the Mk.1. The only other noticeable differences between the Mk.1 and Mk.2 are slightly worse accuracy and attachment options on the Mk.1

There are some interesting things to note about these weapons, which I wanted to talk about today.

First, the ammunition. The rifle fires caseless ammo, which is an interesting technology that technically exists today, but is not currently practical. A traditional round has a few common components across all designs.