Joe Generico
    Their BYOND Key
    LilPenpusher
    Approximate time and date of the incident
    9:30 AM
    Which Staff Protocols (//showthrea...-and-Protocols) were broken
    Enforcement of the rules, preserve rp and enjoyment
    Description of the incident
    LilPenpusher PM'd me at the start of a new round, saying that my name was; "not an acceptable name" (My characters name is 'Joe Generico').
    I told him I've had this name for 2.5 years, and that it's within acceptability being that its not a reference to anything while, yes, its a bit jokey, its not like im playing out 'Generico' as a meme. LilPenpusher then told me that players had to get approval from management for names??? I'm so confused at this part, really, because I've been playing CM for 3 years, and while I had a hiatus where I hadn't played for a few months, this new rule is totally alien to me -- but the thing is, I cant find a rule anywhere where it was detailed that players must get approvement for management to have a name?

The trial mod (LilPenpusher) then told me that my name is obviously a direct reference to a meme called "Mister Generico" (I haven't heard of it, ever, and I've had the name 'Joe Generico' for 2 and a half years so im sure that my name predates whatever meme hes talking about)

In response, I said: "whats mister generico? ive had this character named this for 2 and a half years, and the rules say if its a reference to anything that it shouldnt be like youre acting like that character, and if its memey than it should be acceptable. "generico" is acceptable according to both of these clarifications"

Trial mod then told me he will NOT argue the case, and that he WILL change my name.

As of writing this, he has changed my name via VV or something. It also sucks, too, becoming part of a community then having to become unrecognizable again because some trial mod forced me to change my name.
    EvidenceWhat resolution are you seeking?